The Great White North Radon Lounge

2 Feb

Jeff’s story of the time some Canadians took over the Radon.

I woke up the morning of Feb 1st and was drinking my coffee while watching the large pool of water that had gathered on top of a sheet of ice in the backyard. It didn’t look like a very promising day for a Radon Lounge show. Quite a few people on the Facebook feed were telling other people to be careful on the roads.

It seemed earlier in the week this might be the show where we start turning people away at the door from being over capacity, but instead I felt the familiar worries of just getting enough people so the bands felt like they weren’t just playing for a mounted deer head.

I worked hard to get some of the ice chopped up in the back, driveway and sidewalks. I found I could just squeegee the water out from the low places in some of the walkways thanks to the ice.

The Strumbellas arrived early (not something we’re used to). We were able to sound check them quickly and get the Phoenix Sons setup way before showtime, a miracle in itself.

The show was so much fun. The Phoenix Sons blew everyone away right at the start of the show. I know these guys are really great musicians, but this was their first time playing a full set, so didn’t know exactly what to expect. I have a feeling we’ll see them around plenty

phoenix sons

The Phoenix Sons @ the Radon Lounge

After Phoenix Sons, Lovecow played their set. I’m a big Lovecow fan. I really enjoy the honesty in the songs along with the catchy melodies. You just can’t help from stomping a foot. They didn’t play my favorite song, but they played some of their new stuff, just as good or better than the old.

Lovecowset

Lovecow @ the Radon Lounge

After Lovecow came a new discovery from Bloomington-Normal, Alex and the XO’s. I didn’t have a chance to see them perform before that night, but they were really great. I especially enjoyed the sassy guitarist along with their songs from their latest album that I had been listening the crap out of on Bandcamp.

alexandthexos

Alex and the XO’s @ the Radon Lounge

Finally of course The Strumbellas did a fantastic job. Even being down a member, they still killed it. We actually had one of the largest audiences despite the snow and ice, must be attributed to fans of Canadian bands. I think I heard Simon’s vocal accents and Izzy’s violin in my dreams that night. A touching of the moment of the night was when Simon brought up the kids in attendance to sing along for the chorus of one of the songs. Before they left for their show in Detroit the next morning, they reassured me they would tell people in Canada about the now world famous Radon Lounge. So maybe we’ll have people driving in from Toronto for future shows?

strumbellas pic

The Strumbellas @ the Radon Lounge

We’ve got one more show before we take a break for the new Radon baby. We’ll see you Feb 15th for a Beatles Cover night. Check this show page out for more info on that. After that we’ll be back in May.

Leave a Reply

